I had an interesting trip.

News of Michael Jackson’s hospitalization broke as I was pulling away from work towards the interstate. Half-way through, he was dead.

“Wow,” I thought. That is what I will remember from this weekend…where I was when Michael Jackson died. I was locked into the half bathroom on the first floor of our house in Nurnberg, fresh from spring break in Ibiza (with a youth group, in off season) on the phone with Rachel, she told me Kurdt Cobain killed himself. I don’t remember if I cried.

I felt teary, mildly, when I heard MJ died. It was pretty easy to laugh, though, listening to people call into radio stations, crying about how he helped them come out of the closet, and he’s her “brother, my blood brother…”

Poor Farrah, totally eclipsed…I’m too young for this, I thought. My generational icons shouldn’t be dying off until I’m old… 

Anyways, so RIGHT when the radio told me Michael Jackson died, I drove into a torrential, blinding rain storm. God is sobbing! I laughed to myself.

It eased up, and I pulled off into a rest area. The parking lot was empty, which is odd. I remember a scare – perpetuated by Ann Landers, at least – about rest stop murders, as I hurried through the drizzle.

All the trash cans were overflowing, spilling onto the ground. One bathroom had a “CLOSED FOR CLEANING” sign, the was as empty as the parking lot. I walked all the way to the end, making sure they were all empty. There was a towel, an ugly brown, large bath towel, hanging on the sink wall.

I made it back to my car unmurderized.

About 30 min/miles from my destination, my pedometer went from 85ish to…zero. Luckily, I had plenty of Michael Jackson fans calling in, tearfully proclaiming him the most famous man ever (which I can’t argue with).

As I was gathering my luggage (have, obviously, arrived at my destination and parked), my friend/hostess jumped up to the car. “I’ve had an emergency!” Her cat had a metal something poking through it’s leg. “Go, go!” I shooed through her apologies (I’ve never been to her house)(which is freakin’ awesome).

Hopefully all is well…we’d planned to go out for some food and drinks, first Farrah, then Michael, now a cat! What a trip.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

